training - l-r Caspar Hughes - Nathan Cotterell - Matt Bell in sprint runs (1)

The heat is on for Nantwich Town players as they begin pre-season training this week in scorching temperatures, writes Jonathan White.

Dave Cooke’s squad is shaping up nicely ahead of the 2018-19 season, with pre-season training kicking off last Saturday.

Fitness coach Jay Bateman put the players through their paces on the Malbank School and Sixth Form College sports field, next to the Weaver Stadium.

Training took place under the watchful eye of Cooke, assistant manager Danny Griggs and coach Nigel Deeley.

New signings James Lawrie and Danny Glover will be keen to make their mark, with a number of familiar faces also hoping to make a big impression this season.

Nantwich begin their nine-game pre-season campaign this Saturday June 30 at Alsager Town.

In a re-arranged date, they will host Crewe Alex on July 7 at home, kick off 3pm.

Their full pre-season schedule is below:

Sat 30th June: v Alsager Town (A) – 3pm KO
Sat 7th July: v Crewe Alex (H) – 3pm KO
Tues 10 July: v Salford City (H) – 7.45pm KO
Sat 14th July: v Newcastle Town (A) – 3pm KO
Tues 17th July: v Sandbach Utd (H) – 7.45pm KO
Sat 21st July: v Blackpool FC (H) – 3pm KO
Sat 28th July: v Colwyn Bay (A) – 3pm KO
Tues 31st July: v Winsford Utd (A) – 7.45pm KO
Sat 4th Aug: v Radcliffe FC (A) – 3pm KO
Sat 11th Aug: v Leek Town (A) – 3pm KO

More details on fixture schedules, times and tickets can be found at www.nantwichtownfc.co.uk

(Pics by Jonathan White)

Joel Stair uses the hop training equipment (1)

Joel Stair

Fitness coach Jay Bateman puts the players through their paces (1)

Fitness coach Jay Bateman

Manager Dave Cooke talks tactics with Coach Nigel Deeley (1)

Dave Cooke and Nigel Deeley

The Weaver Stadium - June 2018 (1)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website, to learn more please read our privacy policy.

*

Captcha * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.