John Broomhall (centre) with John Lea (left) and Michael-John Parkin

Two men from Nantwich and Tarporley have been awarded the MBE in the 2015 New Year Honours list.

John Stewart Broomhall, from Nantwich, a committee member of the Nantwich Show, has been honoured.

John (pictured, centre) has been recognised for his services to agriculture, the rural economy and the community in Nantwich.

In 2013, he stepped down after 25 years as chairman of Nantwich Agricultural Society which stages the event every July at Dorfold Park.

The retired auctioneer of Nantwich has also served 40 years on the show committee.

He helped it grow to become the largest one day agricultural event in the UK and home to the International Cheese awards which attracts entries from across the globe.

Society President John Lea said Mr Broomhall had been the “driving forces” behind the show’s success over the last four decades.

Mr Broomhall, a former vice chairman of Wright Manley, has handed over the famous black bowler hat worn every show day to another society stalwart, Michael-John Parkin.

Also in the New Year Honours list is Michael Wilson, 70, from Tarporley, honoured for his services to the community in Eaton and Rushton.

For more than 50 years, Michael has given unpaid service to the communities and to the wider community of rural Cheshire.

This has included being a Scout leader where he ran a number of group in the Midlands, Yorkshire and Chester.

He was a key member of the steering group for the Rushton Parish Plan and member and Chair of Rushton Parish Council.

He headed a small team which founded Eaton Youth Club which now meets weekly, including school holidays, with a session for younger children followed by a teenage group.

Michael is also chair of the Eaton village play area project which, after detailed negotiation with the local council, should be finished in 2015.

In 2013, Mike was awarded ‘Cheshire Community Champion’ by Cheshire Community Action.

Other local award winners include John Bowler, chairman of Crewe Alexandra FC, who receives the MBE for services to football.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website, to learn more please read our privacy policy.


Captcha * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.