website - Crewe Railways Bid - Heart of Rail

Conservative MPs across the North West have backed Crewe’s bid to become the home of Great British Railways.

Eighteen MPs have signed a joint letter to the new Secretary of State for Transport Anne-Marie Trevelyan including the Crewe & Nantwich MP Dr Kieran Mullan who organised the approach.

In their letter the MPs highlight the benefits the HQ would bring to the wider region stating that: “Crewe is the only finalist in the Northwest therefore as Northwest MPs, our constituencies will also benefit from the headquarters being awarded to Crewe.

“Many surrounding areas have strong connectivity to Crewe and the railways and want to see this bid back the Northwest’s levelling up agenda.

“Many people in Crewe and its surrounding areas have close ties to the railway with many constituents of ours working in the railway sector, bringing the headquarters here will continue this proud tradition.

“We have all come together to show support for Crewe’s bid, for the Northwest’s Bid and to encourage the Government to choose Crewe as the location for the new GBR headquarters.”

It follows a campaign by the MP, Cheshire East Council and a range of stakeholders including Crewe Alex Football Club, South Cheshire College, the South Cheshire Chamber of Commerce and the local rail industry.

Dr Mullan said: “It is fantastic to have support from across the region and it is perfectly timed to put the bid right back in focus with the new Transport Secretary.

“Our whole campaign has relied on lots of different people working together.

“This is another way in which we have spoken with a united voice which is always powerful. I want to thank all of these MPs for their support.”

Crewe is competing with five other towns and cities to be named the new GBR headquarters – including Derby, Doncaster, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, York and Birmingham.

The Government is expected to make an announcement in November.

Northwest MPs who signed the letter:

Andy Carter MP
Antony Higginbotham MP
Chris Clarkson MP
Chris Green MP
David Rutley MP
Edward Timpson CBE QC MP
Esther McVey MP
Fiona Bruce MP
Sir Graham Brady MP
James Daly MP
James Grundy MP
Dr Kieran Mullan MP
Mark Logan MP
Mark Menzies MP
Mary Robinson MP
Dr Neil Hudson MP
Sara Britcliffe MP
Scott Benton MP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website, to learn more please read our privacy policy.


Captcha * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.